Tammy Thomas Garnes

Bloggy Love….

In Bloggy Love, Blogs, Family on March 31, 2009 at 5:21 pm

 

Can You Feel The Love?

Can You Feel The Love?

Stay at Home and Work at Home moms have it so good these days…

 

Wait, wait, wait.  Don’t throw anything at the screen or curse me under your breath as you balance your nursing newborn in one aching arm, navigate the mouse or crusty keyboard (what is that gunk anyway?) with your free hand and stretch your toes to bring the remote control closer to your body, (still not quite sure how you’re gonna get it up into your lap quite yet), just wait.

All I’m saying, is that 8 years ago when I first became a SAHM/WAHM, there were no good mommy blogs. OK, there were a few corporate type thingy’s online with articles on colic and cloth diapers, but nothing like what’s going on now. Stir in a little Facebook and sprinkle some Twitter and NING and OMG, you have a MOMMY REVOLUTION going on out here. So many AWESOME women to read and so many great groups to join. No wonder corporate America is paying us all so much attention! 

So since I haven’t crossed over yet on this blog into the wild world of giveaways and contests, I figured the least I could do is share with you some of the incredible blogs I’ve found over the past few months. Some of these will be personal blogs, others are blogs full of tips and a few are selling a product. The common theme here is PASSION. All of these blogs are full of passion for whatever it is they are talking about, selling or sharing.  Each week I’ll add more, so stay tuned!

Oh, and one more thing, while I’m no blog snob, let me go on record and say loud and proud to the recessionista bloggers who are only out there setting up blogs to make a quick buck with annoying ads and click thru buttons and little to no real content. I appreciate your tenacity, I really do, but please, don’t try so hard. If you write it from the heart…we will come…we promise. You don’t have to give us anything or force us to jump on one leg while forwarding your tweet and singing the national anthem. All you have to do is write, with passion, and we will come.

Hold on…it’ll take me a minute to get down off this soap box without falling and busting my butt.

So below is my first installment of what I will be calling BLOGGY LOVE. Great blogs written with great passion by some pretty great women. Enjoy!

BLOGGY LOVE

Jean:  Momma On The Rocks – Mix one part tutu with two parts giggles and a shot of mommy, mommy, mommy and you have Momma On The Rocks.  Sometimes there is nothing better than just logging OUT of your own life and INTO someone else’s.  Be sure to check out her recent photos of the snow storm that hit her house.  The last one of the spring banner is priceless.  She’s over there pimpin’ out tweets as well (not quite sure how that works yet but it sounds fun).

Ree Drummond:  The Pioneer Woman – Yeah, I know, she has over 11,000 Twitter followers now but any blog that provides me with a lasagna recipe so good that my entire extended family had to bow down to me at Christmas dinner, gets a shout out from me!  I’ve been following her site for so long and now she’s all the rage.  I would love to be like her when I grow up!  From her writings to her recipes and photography, this woman is blazing a new trail for bloggers everywhere.  All hail the Queen aka The Pioneer Woman.

Luxe Mama:  Luxe Tips – When you read her recent interview with salon owners Titi and MIko, you can feel her enthusiasim about all things beauty just ooze off of the page.  This woman loves her lipstick, her hair care products and her stilletos.  Can’t be mad at her for that.  On top of it all she’s a wife, mom, attorney and one of my Mocha Moms.  I’ve been following her blog for many many months and I love how she’s “representing” for brown girls everywhere.

Roxanne Hicks:  New Smyrna Beach Mom – Goodness gracious, if it’s happening in or near New Smyrna Beach, FL, Roxanne is your girl!  This WAHM blogs about local school happenings, festivals, churches, restaurants and events.  I mean literally, reading her posts will make you want to go and visit this divine sounding place.  Keep up the good work Roxanne, it’s obvious that you love your community.  We could all use someone like you in our neck of the woods.

Sharon Reilly:  Cool Dog Productions – While I may not be a blog snob, I am a film/video snob (has something to do with that student loan for the film degree that I’m still paying back).  So when I stumbled across this awesome site I had to tell you all about it.  Her company creates beautiful and touching video birth announcements, video stories, ecards and more.  Set to music, these videos are the perfect 2.o addition to the modern baby and family.  With a Masters in Media and credits that include ABC Television, you can trust she’ll do great work on your child’s birth video 🙂  And yes, her pricing is competitive.  Trust me, I know about these things.

Next week I’ll profile more, like CutieBootyCakes and Playground For Parents, both listed in my RSS Feed below, but for now, enjoy this first installment of BLOGGY LOVE and go visit some of these awesome sites!

  1. What a great list of blogs, thanks for sharing. I love Ree, her pictures are awesome and those recipes make me hungry. Clicked on your blog by way of twitter, and I have to day I’m glad I did!

  2. Wow! You brought tears to my eyes! How sweet of you! Thank you so much for reading the blog. It is so much fun. It really makes my day! Thanks again Tammy!

  3. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  4. Thanks so much for the bloggy love! You made my day! (I have goosebumps)

    I love tweeting with you, and I love your blog. Off to check out your other bloggy love blogs – esp Luxe Tips – I mean, lipstick and stilettos? What is better (except chocolate).

    You’re a doll!

  5. No problem! You can feel the love coming off the page mama! Scrapbooking (the old fashioned kind) was all the rage just 8 short years ago when my oldest was born, so no one was really documenting like this online. I’m feeling a little lazy these days because I don’t post more, but I love reading about everyone else’s trials and highs. It’s like one big mommy support group online!

  6. Great post, Tammy. Some of these bloggers I’m already familiar with, but you’ve piqued my interest in some new folks.
    Thanks for stopping by!!!

  7. Great site this suchasoutherngirl.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  8. Thanks for the new blogs. I already read Luxe Tips of course and who doesn’t know about the Pioneer Woman? Thanks for the shout out too!

Leave a Reply

