Tammy Thomas Garnes

Everything I need to know I learned in childbirth…

In Childbirth, Family on January 28, 2009 at 4:27 am

My first child was a c-section.  I had planned for this big, long, natural birth and there I was on an operating table still trying to figure out “why me?”  I had a perfectly healthy and happy child, but for years afterwards I secretly hoped that next time I would have true blue labor and all the “fun” drama that came with it.  Be careful what you wish for!!!

Baby #2 was the classic birth.  Water breaks in the bank, 3 days of labor, refusal of drugs and finally a beautiful birth on my own terms.  Both births were phenomenal and had storybook endings and each had their pros and cons.  But MOST importantly, both came with lessons that I will carry with me forever.

1.  Patience is everything. You can’t rush a birth.  There are days when you think you can, but you can’t.  Everything works in it’s own time and season and often you are simply along for the ride.

2.  Listening is key.  You’re not the first person to do this and you won’t be the last, so listen carefully when others offer you advice.  

3.  Quitting is not an option.  Stage 3 labor makes you rationalize quitting, but everyone around you will reassure you that the experience is not a multiple choice test.  There is only one correct answer.

4.  Things are always better the next day.  With labor, childbirth and child rearing, this is just so true.  Hold onto it when you’re having a bad day.

Yesterday, four plus years after my last birth, I had a breast biopsy.  I was scared to death of what the results could ultimately be.  But while I lay on the operating table, I remembered that everything I needed to know, I learned in childbirth.  That patience is everything, listening is key, quitting is not an option and things are always better the next day.

The results come back next Monday.  And no matter what, those four truths will see me through. 

  • **********

UPDATE: All went well, I’m as healthy as can be! I tried to put on my best game face, but boy was I scared. Thanks for all the emails, tweets and unconditional love.

  1. SSG, you are absolutely right about childbirth teaching you all the important stuff. I’m sure your tests will be fine.
    Sending you positivity!!

  2. Love this article – I’m going to consult it when eventually I have children!

Leave a Reply

