Tammy Thomas Garnes

It’s the simple things that give me grief……

In Uncategorized on January 16, 2009 at 11:10 am

So it should be simple right? I have a new cell phone. An iphone in fact. And it came with a local Atlanta number. For the last 15 years, 13 of which were spent in Los Angeles, I have been using a California based phone number. So when my husband handed me the phone he explained, “You can have AT&T get you your California number or you can just keep this new one.”

 
Well if that didn’t send me into a tizzy. It’s been 3 weeks and I’m STILL carrying around two phones. A part of me wants to just start fresh with a new phone number and embrace my reclaimed Southerness. But my hesitation tells me that something more is attached to that beloved 818 prefix I’ve been carrying around all these years.

 
818 is where I got married. 818 is where I bore two beautiful girls. 818 is where I met some of the most incredible mommy friends you could ever imagine. 818 is where most of my adult memories live.  And plus I like it when someone at a store asks for my phone number and after hearing it, asks, “What city is that?”  It makes me feel a wee bit exotic, like I have something others don’t.  Giving up 818 feels like I’m giving up…no, denying, a part of my authentic self.

But 404 is where I am now. 404 is where I plan to live for the rest of my life. 404 is where we own a home, it’s where our daughters will grow up, leave the nest and come back to on holidays from college. 404 represents bold choices and positive forward movement.  I love my new life and I never plan on living or moving back west.  Here in this new city my creativity is being honored and I am re-discovering my pre-mommy self.

So for a few more days I’ll hold on to both phones as I struggle with this decision. I never thought that something as simple as a cell phone number would give me so much grief. Funny the things we cling to in order to justify our identity.

  1. A friend of mine just emailed me one of your articles from a while back. I read that one a few more. Really enjoy your blog. Thanks

  2. Tam,
    I was mortified when you sent the 404 number. And I had to talk myself down. Seriously. I was like, she lives there now. She’s established her career there now. It’s only normal that she should want to have a local number. But seriously, it’s cool when folks ask, “Where you from?”

    It’s not a simple thing. It’s complex and deep.

    (and if it makes the decision any easier… what difference does the number make when you don’t answer most of the time anyway!)

    Ree

Leave a Reply

